The Sherwood Forest Golf Program develops golfing skills and etiquette to club level play.  Professional instruction emphasizes fundamentals as articulated by old school golfing icon Charlie Gillis.  As Mr. Gillis might have it, instruction spans the basics of transitioning non-golfers to club level competition with that unarticulated love of the game.

The Course

A 9 hole executive bent grass course with a par 31.  Designed and built by Herbert Strong in 1920 with defining sand greens.  Perfected in 1986 by Charlie Gillis and Ault, Clark and Associates.

Golf Awards

Awards available to participants of the golf program in all groups include championship and open medals, along with participation and achievement certificates resulting from outstanding effort and/or achievement.  While some awards are given out during the summer, the majority of awards are given at Trophy Night.

Gillis/Graefe Cup

This award is to honor the many years of service provided by Mr. Ed Graefe and Mr. Charles Gillis to the children of the Sherwood Forest Club. Mr. Ed Graefe, a Sherwood resident and  teaching pro at the former South Sherwood Golf Course (now the Downs community), provided lessons and guidance in the golf fundamentals for many years. Mr. Charles Gillis, a long time Sherwood resident, worked to improve the junior golf program years after Mr. Graefe had retired from teaching golf in Sherwood, by adding the Junior Medalist Program, a robust Pro-Am Golf Tournament, for the sole purpose of increasing interest among the Sherwood junior golfers, many of whom now as adults participate each year as amateurs in the tournament. This award is given to the junior boy golfer who participates and wins the Match Play Junior Golf Championship, held each year during the Adult Semi-Finals and Finals Golf Championship tournaments.

Cumberpatch Cup

The Cumberpatch Cup honors the memory of Mary O. Shumate Cumberpatch won the ladies golf championship many times during her life in Sherwood. First in 1943 (she was not married yet), then in 1964, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1977, 1978 for a total of 9 times. Mary Lou Cumberpatch her daughter won it in 1973 (30 years after her mother won it the first time). Mary Lou also won in 1974 in between her Mom’s wins, and 1992.  Mary O and Mary Lou never played at the same time. This award is given to the junior girl golfer who participates and wins the Match Play Junior Golf Championship, held each year during the Adult Semi-Finals and Finals Golf Championship tournaments.

The James E. Fitzgerald Trophy

The Fitzgerald Trophy honors Dr. Jim Fitzgerald who won numerous Camp golf titles and is a six time Sherwood Forest Club Champion between 1946 and 1970.  He joins his brother and several of his children as winners of Sherwood’s Golf Club Championship 23 times since 1939.  When he wasn’t competing, he was frequently caddying for his brother and then his children.  Dr. Fitzgerald attended the Camp Program from Playground through Seniors, was Boy of the Year in 1940, directed the Camp program in the late 60’s and was awarded the Severn River Trophy in 1972.  His love for the game and his competitive spirit continues and serves as an inspiration to all who know him.  This award recognizes the Senior Boy and Girl Golf Champion.

The Klepper Cup

This award is presented to the child in the golf program who exhibits the greatest interest in golf, the best behavior on the course, and the utmost appreciation for the game.